NCJW-St.Louis Section

National Council of Jewish Women

295 N. Lindbergh Blvd.
St. Louis, Missouri 63141

phone: (314) 993-5181
Contact Us

Become a Fan of NCJW St. Louis on Facebook Follow NCJW on Twitter Subscribe to Our Blog! Contact NCJW St. Louis

NCJW Seeking 2016 Hannah G. Solomon Founders Award and Section Award Nominations

Hannah G. Solomon Founders Award Nominations Nominations are now being accepted for NCJW’s highest honor, the Hannah G. Solomon Founder’s Award.  The recipient must fulfill one or more of the following criteria:
  • Exemplify the NCJW mission of improving the quality of life for women, children and families
  • Expand and promote the status of women in vital areas of community life
  • Work to ensure and advance individual and civil rights
  • Provide leadership that has motivated others to fight for progress and enlightenment in our community
The nominee does not have to be an NCJW member, Jewish, or female.  The men and women who have received the award in the past include government officials, NCJW members and non-members, educators, and community leaders.  NCJW first presented the award to Former Gov. Christopher Bond in 1983, and in 2015 honored Denise Lieberman for her tireless work in voter protection and civil rights. The 2016 award will be presented at NCJW’s Celebrating Women event this fall. Include the following information with your submission by February 15:  name, address, and phone number of the candidate; an explanation of why you are nominating the candidate; and your name and phone number. E-mail or mail submissions to NCJW–St. Louis Section, Attn: HGS Founder’s Award, 295 N. Lindbergh Blvd., St. Louis, MO 63141. Section Award Nominations The St. Louis Section honors several members each year at our May Installation event for outstanding commitment to NCJW. Please see below for category descriptions. Submit nominations by February 15 to
  • Emerging Leader: The Emerging Leader award is an award that is sanctioned by National.  This award identifies and nurtures future Section leadership.  The criteria are that the recipient:
    • Has potential for assuming future Section leadership;
    • Understands and supports the NCJW purpose and programs;
    • Demonstrates commitment to the Section;
    • Currently serves on the Section board, has served for less than five years, or is currently chairing a committee or serving as an officer.
  • Community Service: The Community Service award is presented to a volunteer or volunteers who have demonstrated the spirit of NCJW on a particular project — the spirit of innovation and dedication.
  • Leadership: The Leadership award is given to a member who has demonstrated long-term leadership efforts and service to the Section.
  • Advocacy: The Advocacy Award is given to a member who had demonstrated a strong commitment to advocacy and raising the awareness of NCJW issues locally, statewide, and nationally.
  • Volunteer Service: The Volunteer Service award was created in 2007 to begin the tradition of honoring outstanding volunteers who have given of their time and talents to NCJW.